Board of Trustees


President: Elizabeth Del Tufo, Newark, Tour Director; former Chairperson, City of Newark Landmarks and Historic Preservation Commission

Vice President: Matthew Gosser, Newark, Professor and Gallery Director, New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT) College of Architecture and Design

Secretary: Thomas Ankner, Newark, Professional Genealogist, and Librarian in the Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at the Newark Public Library; Member of the Genealogical Society of New Jersey

Treasurer: Thomas J. Alrutz, Newark, Librarian, Retired Deputy / Associate Director New York Public Library, and Former Director Newark Public Library

Parliamentarian: Mark W. Gordon, Maplewood, Principal, Urbana Consulting, LLC


Dr. Marion A. Bolden, West Orange, Independent education management professional, former superintendent of Newark Public Schools

Michele Butchko, Newark, M.S. Urban Management, Urban Planner, Co-chair Forest Hill Community Association Historic Preservation Committee

Anne Englot, Newark, Professor of Practice in Architecture & Humanities in the Arts, Culture & Media Department Rutgers University-Newark

Samer Hanini, Newark, Real estate developer and construction manager, Principal at Hanini Group LLC

Brian Hanlon, South Orange, Project Manager for U.S. District Courts

Lauren G. Meehan, West Orange, Director, Newark Arts Education Roundtable

Damon Rich, Newark, Partner, Hector Urban Design, Planning & Civic Arts

Linda Morgan, Newark, Vice President of Project Partnerships & External Affairs, RBH Group 

Anthony Schuman, Montclair, Professor of Architecture at the Hillier College of Architecture and Design at NJIT

Laura Troiano, Hoboken, Ph.D.,Institute of Ethnicity, Culture, and Modern Experience, Rutgers-Newark

Anker West, Newark, Architectural Designer and Ceramicist

Phil Yourish, East Orange, Founding Executive Director Weequahic High School Alumni Association, Retired

Zemin Zhang, Newark, Psychologist, James Street Historic District activist


Executive Director, Zemin Zhang Ph.D, Newark, Psychologist, James Street Historic District activist

Joan Bloomer, Financial Consultant, Controller

Rosalind Vaughn-Nichol, Web Design, Communications and Social Media Coordinator:

Much of the Committee's work is done by volunteers


(413) 337-1666

P.O. Box 1066, Newark, NJ 07101

Using Format